April Plenaries

Upcoming Meetings



RTCA's Current Winners
Contributions from volunteers are what makes RTCA a success, and each year the organization recognizes those who provide extraordinary leadership.
Home / About us / Awards

RTCA 2023 Award Winners

William E. Jackson Award

The William E. Jackson Award is presented to an outstanding graduate student in the field of aviation electronics and telecommunications. This  award is a memorial to William E. Jackson, a pioneer in the development and implementation of the nation’s air traffic control system and an enthusiastic supporter of student engineers.


This year’s William E. Jackson Award has been presented to Dr. Timothy Needham for his Thesis entitled “Gravity Modeling in High-Integrity GNSS-Aided Inertial Navigation Systems.” Tim served on SC-159 Working Group 2C and coauthored Appendix O of DO-384. He holds a B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Ohio University.

Click here to see previous winners of the William E. Jackson Award.

Outstanding Leaders

The Outstanding Leader Award recognizes the added demands placed on RTCA Special Committee Chairs and/or other Committee participants who serve in leadership roles.

2023 Outstanding Leaders

Outstanding LeaderCompany
Mike AireyLSA Electromagnetics
David BakerThe MITRE Corporation
Bryan BarmoreNASA
Michael CramerConsultant
Mike DeerBell Helicopter Textron Inc.
Randal GuendelMIT LIncoln Laboratory
Michael HooperIridium Satellite LLC.
Yasuo IshiharaHoneywell International, Inc.
Randy JacobsonCollins Aerospace
Sai KalyanaramanCollins Aerospace
Varun KhannaFederal Aviation Administration
Fabrice KunziThe Boeing Company
Christophe MacabiauEcole Nationale de l'Aviation Civile
Sam MasriHoneywell International, Inc.
Dave NakamuraThe MITRE Corporation
Siobvan NyikosThe Boeing Company
Ted PatmoreDelta Air Lines, Inc.
David RedmanAerospace Vehicle Systems Institute
Armin SchlerethDFS Deutsche Flugsicherung GmbH
Uwe SchwarkAirbus
Sam SmearcheckJohns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory
Timothy SteinerFederal Aviation Administration
Rob StrainThe MITRE Corporation
Don WalkerA3 by Airbus Group
Joel WichgersCollins Aerospace

Significant Contributors

The Significant Contributor award recognizes individuals for very important and noteworthy contributions to Special Committees and their products.

2023 Significant Contributors

Significant ContributorCompany
Darrell AndreggCollins Aerospace
Paul CampbellFederal Aviation Administration
Deepak ChauhanFederal Aviation Administration
Greg ComstockThe Belmont Group
Stephen DarrDynamic Aerospace, Inc.
Mike DeerBell helicopter Textron, Inc.
Swen EricsonZETA Associates
Robert ErlandsonConsultant
Matt HarrisThe Boeing Company
Matt HaskinFederal Aviation Administration
Ben HuangIridium Satellite LLC.
Devin JackAdaptive Aerospace Group
Robert KebelAirbus
Bob LeeGXA Consulting LLC.
Jamie LutkusAstronics Corporation
David McGheeRoss & Baruzzini
Jeff MeyersFederal Aviation Administration
Tom PaganoRegulus Group
Dave PierceGE Aviation
Alan SigmanFAA NextGen ANG-C31
Siva SivananthanARCON Corporation
Rick TimmsNational Geo-Spatial Intelligence Agency
Michael TropeGarmin Ltd.
Andrew VidemsekReliable Robotics
Lesley WeitzThe MITRE Corporation
Jared WikleMIT Lincoln Laboratory
Sebastian ZanlongoJohns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory
Dongsong ZengThe MITRE Corporation

For more information:

Significant Contributors Award, please contact contact James Venslauskas

Outstanding Leaders Award, please contact contact James Venslauskas

William E. Jackson Award, please contact contact James Venslauskas

RTCA-National Aviation Hall of Fame Educator Scholarship

The National Aviation Hall of Fame (NAHF) and RTCA, Inc. have partnered to create a new Professional Development Scholarship Program to support Pre-K-6th-grade educators in sharing the concepts of aviation and aerospace with their students through the NAHF’s elementary classroom curriculum program Problem Solving with Wilbur and Orville. More details.


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact
For more information please visit our Privacy Policy