SC-229 - 406 MHz Emergency Locator Transmitters (ELTs), established December 18, 2013, is working to update DO-204 standards addressing the latest design, performance, installation and operational issues for 406 MHz emergency beacons. These standards should be useful to users, designers, manufacturers, and installers of ELTs and will help ensure a more standardized approach in these systems and the installations approval process. The revision to DO-204 is warranted for several reasons: First, Cospas-Sarsat is upgrading its satellite ELT detection system by placing search and rescue transponders on new GPS, GLONASS, and GALILEO satellites. These new transponders will dramatically improve the speed and accuracy of ELTs. Second, analysis of recent aircraft accidents has created a call from air safety investigators as well as the National Search and Rescue Committee to develop standards for pre-accident automatic ELT activation. Third, GPS technology now allows ELTs to provide accurate accident positioning to first responders. Development of GPS requirements for use in ELTs will help standardize this valuable tool.



Co-Chair Thomas Pack ACR Electronics
Co-Chair Philippe Plantin de Hugues Bureau d'Enquetes et d'Analyses (BEA)
Government Authorized Representative Charisse Green Federal Aviation Administration
Secretary Stuart Taylor HR Smith Group of Companies
Program Director Rebecca Morrison RTCA, Inc.


Recently Completed Documents

DO-204B MOPS for 406 MHz ELTs  December 2018


General Information

Terms of Reference June 11, 2020
Next Meeting Agenda TBA
2020 Meetings April 29-30, 3030



2019 Meetings May 13, 2019
August 8, 2019
December 16-17, 2019
2018 Meetings March 13-16, 2018
June 18-22, 2018
August 28-31, 2018
2017 Meetings March 14 - 17, 2017
September 5 - 8, 2017
December 12 - 15, 2017
2016 Meetings March 16 - 18, 2016
September 6 - 9, 2016
December 13-16, 2016
2015 Meetings January 13-15, 2015
April 21-23, 2015
September 1-3, 2015
December 15-17, 2015


For additional meeting summaries, please contact the Program Director: Rebecca Morrison